Hello! We often receive various emails from those interested in our
WISP Directory participants. We generally answer all of them and sometimes
come across those of an unusual nature. The Directory is a free service, provided for industry
participants, i.e. providers, manufacturers, resellers, etc. We
generally enjoy helping our participants further expand their presences
and are usually very happy to do so. That's one of the major benefits
of being listed in the Directory.
However, there are times when we're contacted "unusually." Read on for the context. We think you'll enjoy it!
Note: the following was posted to the ISP-Wireless mailing list as I was shocked and appalled initially.
If you want to see the original message, here it is.
FYI,
we've already replied back to the gentleman and received a "you're
welcome" response in return. Perhaps a change in medication may be in
order?
Howdy all. I hope you don't mind my asking you for some advice.
I received the following email early this morning from a
gentleman who expressed displeasure of being listed in the WISP
Directory. I'm just wondering how I should reply back to him.
A little backgrond (I've removed the sensitive information to protect his
privacy): Someone in his organization registered his WISP on 4/8/05. I have
his partner's full name and email address. It came from his domain name so
it's legitimate. I approved the listing on the same day. I've also been
defaulting the contact form to show however the majority of participants have
their listing contact forms not showing to help keep the spam down (some of you
whom are listed may recall the pains I took to eliminate third-parties from
spamming our participants via the contact forms; unfortunately, there's no way
to prevent people from opening the forms, one participant at a time, and
copying and pasting; tedious for sure), however I felt since this member may be
interested in having potential subscribers contact him, I activated his form
which delivers inquiries to the original account, in this case, his partner's
email address.
Since the Directory is a free service and since participants have to actually
request to be listed (no one has ever, ever been listed in the Directory
without their permission; they're only listed if they go through the sign-up
procedure), I was a bit shocked and appalled by this message, especially since
we never added the member personally; his partner added the listing. I only
approved it.
My question is, does anyone have any advice on how to reply back to this
gentleman? I have pulled his listing, of course.
It's really no sweat off my back as, again, this is a free service. But, as
many of you may know, I've always done what I could to help promote WISPs and
the industry as a whole and will continue to do so.
Thx much, in advance!
Regards,
Kory
> M*** I**** wrote:
> > This is an enquiry e-mail via http://www.wispdirectory.com from:
> > M** I*****
> >
> > I own W********e and you MOTHER F***ERS have 1) listed us in your pathetic
directory without my explicit permission, and 2) have a FRAUDULENT LISTING for
a form to 'contact the owner', which in fact does NOT deliver email to me.
> >
> > I DEMAND that you remove the W*********e listing immediately, or you will
hear from my attorney.
> >
> > AND F**K YOU.
For the record, this is a WISP in Mendocino County, California. Something in the wine perhaps? I think that's enough info.
Basically, there are ways to contact us. Unfortunately, this isn't the best method of doing so.
To your WISP'ing success!
Kory Mohr
The WISP Centric Group |